Omaha Public Power District

Omaha Public Power District is a publicly owned electric utility that serves a population of 770,500 people, more than any other electric utility in the state. Founded in 1946 as a public entity, the business-managed utility is governed by an elected board of eight directors. While its headquarters is located in Omaha, Neb., OPPD has several other locations in its 13-county, 5,000-squaremile service area in southeast Nebraska.

The majority of OPPD’s power comes from two baseload power plants: North Omaha Station and Nebraska City Station, both coal-fired plants. Additional energy comes from three peaking plants and renewable energy resources, including a landfill-gas plant and wind turbines.

Primary Contact
Kurt Teten



935 11th Street
Syracuse, NE 68446

Mon. thru Fri. 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.